Donor thoughts

So we plan on trying for another kid next summer, and are starting to sort of get ourselves prepared. I have doctors appointments and what not coming up, I want to get my fertility checked out and at this point am leaning towards wanting a fully medicated and monitored cycle if I can talk the doctors into it. I’m sure they will do it, I’m old as hell and they know it’s really expensive.
But anyway…our beloved donor is all sold out (sob!), so we have found another. The physical stuff is sort of similar to our donor, even similar interests and gpa and all that stuff, which is exciting. There is just one weird thing that probably shouldn’t be weird at all. In reading his profile, I saw that he couldn’t be more than 18 or 19 years old, since he hadn’t even started college yet! Part of me knows that that young stuff will probably (hopefully) be pretty potent, seems like teenagers are accidentally getting knocked up just by looking at each other, and part of me feels kind of pedophile-ish. Is that silly?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Donor thoughts

  1. Lindsay says:

    You’re not sleeping with him, so don’t feel like a pedophile! I guess my concern is: does a teenager really understand the huge undertaking? That he’s helping create human lives? Humans who may want to have contact with him later?

    Like

    • kayrosey says:

      Im sure he doesnt, he is just a kid. Most of them are probably kids though, I doubt a 20 year old would really get it either. I don’t know how ali and/or her potential sibling will feel about the biological connection so I stick to open donors so the option is there.

      Like

    • DeCaf says:

      Although even younger kids create life accidentally every day.

      I do feel weird about how young Ginger Jesus is, he’s in college.

      Like

      • kayrosey says:

        Alis donor was starting grad school, still probably in his early 20s, but wasn’t a teenager.

        Like

      • DeCaf says:

        I think I’ve only seen one donor in my search who was older than 30. He had some deal breaker though.

        Like

      • kayrosey says:

        Probably the younger the better if you’re just looking at genetics and all that. I don’t know why this age is sitting funny with me, I’ll get over it I’m sure. I never really think about Ali’s donor, I did more when I was pregnant because half of her was totally unknown besides a few random facts.

        Like

  2. Do you know for sure he’s 18/19? I know more than a few bright people who took a few years between high school and college, although it doesn’t seem as common these days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

