Advice

About a week ago, I took the trash and recycling cans to the curb and when I came back inside (like, seriously 1-2 minutes later), Ali was literally swinging from a chandelier. She had pushed a chair to the table, climbed on it, then climbed on the chair that was stacked on the table, and got on the chandelier. I am now examining my social media addiction because my first thought was, ‘oh my god, where’s my phone I gotta get a picture of that!’ Of course I ran over and got her down, but it really would have been a great picture. Even better than this one taken at the beginning of her climbing career:

2015/01/img_2286.jpg
Up until now we have been redirecting Ali when she does ‘naughty’ stuff, but mostly we just modify the environment so she can do whatever, and get into whatever she wants. Now we are finding that that’s not enough. I’ve totally accepted the idea that we will end up in the ER at some point with broken bones and stitches, she’s an insane and fearless climber, but we need to set more boundaries. I’d also like it if she didn’t just laugh at me and keep on doing what she’s doing when I tell her no. Yes, she thinks the word no is hilarious. She also thinks my mean face and mean voice, which I thought were awesome since they could stop 30 fifth graders in their tracks back in my teaching days, is equally hilarious. I’m sort of at a loss on how to get her to take me seriously, and to listen when I tell her no. Is there some magic trick I don’t know about? Will the redirection while saying no eventually sink in for her? Is it even possible for her to understand since she doesn’t really talk yet?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advice

  1. We have a little time (seemingly littler and littler!) before “no” becomes a word in our vocabulary with Darwin, but one of the things my brother and sister-in-law do with my nephew is minimize “no” for when it’s a life or limb issue. They try to only use it when he’s doing something that is potentially dangerous, and then whatever it is, they try to be very, very consistent about it so that the power of the “no” doesn’t get lost. Of course, my nephew is only just over 2 and very strong-willed, so it works better sometimes than others, but isn’t that always the way? πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Lindsay says:

    Oh my goodness! She sure keeps you on your toes. Evelyn isn’t a climber (I thank the heavens for that). My nephew was, though. And I’ll tell ya what: he ended up with a lot of goose bumps on his head and minor injuries. Even THOSE didn’t deter him from climbing.

    I’m just a novice at this parenting a toddler thing, but I”m told redirecting and using more positive language (instead of no) might help. Like saying, “Let’s go over here and do this instead of this.”

    Like

  3. kayrosey says:

    Thanks you two! I can do less nos and more positive language πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Using positive language is the best way to go. Its human nature to do things that people tell you you cant or arent allowed to do. You may want to create a climbing area with boxes or bins where she wont have to go elsewhere to climb. Also, encourage cimbing when its a “family activity”. Climbing with mommy is fun. Climbing without mommy is “not nice and dangerous”. That tends to work too…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

