Growth spurt 

You would think I’d be used to it by now since Ali’s entire life so far has mostly been one continuous growth spurt, but for some reason this one took (is taking?) me by surprise. I should have immediately started watching the online sales at The Children’s Place as soon as her naps started creeping back in the 2.5-3 hour range a week or so ago. And I really should have buckled down and started shopping the sales when she started eating pretty much constantly several days back! Just to give you an idea, we woke her up from nap at 4:30, and she immediately croaked, “crosted slakes”, and started in on a bowl of cereal. Frosted Flakes, in case you couldn’t decipher the Ali speak.    

 Sometimes she likes to eat her cereal on the floor like a dog, it happens. And no, that’s not a dead hooker on my kitchen floor, it’s a horrible, horrible life sized Barbie Jen’s conworker gave her that hasn’t mysteriously disappeared yet. 

 Anyway, she had a bowl of cereal, piece of cheese, about 1/2 can of pineapple, took a short bathroom break and dance party break: 
   Then on to early dinner at 5:30 where she had pork chops, 3 servings of corn, mashed potatoes, then the other 1/2 can of pineapple. Then 20 minutes later she ate bowl after bowl of cereal until bedtime at 8:30. 
As you can see, her shirts barely come down to her waist and her wrists are totally sticking out, so I bit the bullet and (gasp!) paid full price for some 4t outfits that will hopefully get us through the rest of winter. 

This kid! What am I going to do with her?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Growth spurt 

  1. Thanks for clarifying about life size Barbie. Also, I thought all people had tubs of next size up clothes all over the house?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Becca says:

    Could she be any cuter?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so unprepared for life-sized Barbie type gifts. I might die when that happens. It’s nice when they’re little enough that you can disappear their gifts without them noticing. I remember hiding toys in my play oven when I was little to avoid them being donated. I don’t think it worked, there were still mysterious disappearances.

    So much food! I can’t get over how much these little bodies can put away. Also, she is just so cute…

    Liked by 2 people

    • kayrosey says:

      Thanks!
      Her appetite is amazing, and scary sometimes. Our grocery bill is going to be so high when she’s older! Giant Barbie will probably end up tucked away in a closet soon, I won’t totally get rid of it since it was a gift and we see this coworker pretty regularly. But man, it’s a crazy ass toy…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Caitlin says:

    Hahahaha, dead hooker. I laughed out loud.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 4T!?! Wallace is just now outgrowing 18 months but lots of 24m and 2T look big on him or are straight up falling off. Bring on the growth spurts! I’ve got clothes to 3T and am expecting a box of hand me downs from a friend’s friend anyday now. How about local swap pages or mom groups? I’ve always noticed nice kid clothes on there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kayrosey says:

      I should check stuff like that out. I can usually get new stuff for about as cheap or cheaper than the resale store, but not this time! I think the children’s resale shop here is way over priced though, jeans are 6-7 and I can buy them new for 8, so usually just get new.

      Like

  6. Shannon says:

    2 comments here…glad you clarified about the dead hooker on the floor. I sort of thought maybe the wicked witch had your fridge drop on her or something..HA and I totally know the clown outfits you are talking about. We have a few friends who put their daughters in them and Corrie and I laugh and shake our heads every time because we just do NOT understand them. Not to mention they are $$$!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

