Procrastination!

I’m only 3 days into the semester and I’m already dinking  around on fb and writing a blog post instead of doing homework! I must like living on the edge. Then again, what’s up with instructors assigning reading and homework before the dang class even begins? I know this program is no joke, but come on! First world problems, I tell ya…

Winter has finally arrived here in Indiana. It blew in on a wave of freezing rain, and now we have a respectable inch or so of snow covering all that muddy yuck from before. I’m loving it, and so is miss Ali. Although, she now thinks it is eternally Christmas, and asks for presents and Christmas music and Santa every day. On one hand there are cute things like she is convinced the Arby’s sign is Santa for some reason, on the other hand if I have to hear Santa Claus is coming to town by the Jackson 5 one more time I’m going to scream. Who knew I’d be capable of hating such a wonderful band? I’ve had to put my foot down, and insist on playing other music despite actual crocodile tears and sobbing when I cut off the Christmas station. She’s slowly moving on, and today became obsessed with this Brandi Carlile song. We played it about one hundred million times while driving around. I still like the song but am a little concerned she is going to ruin it for me soon. 

In an effort to keep Ali off her kindle and the tv, I’ve started taking her places after school instead of coming home to hang out. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of the shows she watches and the games she plays on her kindle. I attribute her amazing grasp of numbers/counting partially to her screen time, and we are using apps to work on letter recognition/letter sounds/letter tracing skills. But, with the weather sucking and not being outside much and not having other kids to play with, she was getting sucked into mindlessly watching tv for more time than I’m comfortable with. So, long story short, we are doing all the fun things between school and nap on the days I pick her up from school. Today we went to the awesome Botanical Conservatory and hung out. It’s right downtown, and we get to walk through a couple sky bridges and hotels from the parking garage to the building, which is really half the fun of the whole outing.  

 We spent a good amount of time checking out the fancy architecture and the cool light bulbs on the Embassy’s sign. Man, kids really force you to stop and smell the roses in life. Would I have normally stood there marveling over these every day objects? Probably not. Am I glad I did? Yes.  

    
 There is a super cool dinosaur exhibit right now, I’m glad it wasn’t busy so we could enjoy the stations for as long as we wanted. And just so you don’t think it’s all sunshine and roses over here, I had to drag her out of the sand pit kicking and screaming after she threw sand. Then she smacked me in the face not once, but twice. That pretty much sucked, but she got over it by the time I got her coat on and out the door, so it could have been worse. It actually has been worse, way worse in the not so distant past. A month or two ago she would have been in nuclear melt down mode for at least a half hour, maybe more. I’m soooo thankful that seems to be over, it was difficult for me to keep my own temper in check when she was going at it. I guess she comes by it honestly… 

 I’ll leave you with this gorgeous flower. I don’t know why, but here in Fort Wayne, the desert is in full bloom and it’s quite a beautiful sight 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Procrastination!

  1. OMG! Our kids have the same shoes! Wallace is obsessed with listening to Michael Franti but I’ve been getting him to agree to Brandi Carlile some days. And I read this while my phone sat on my psych book…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Molly says:

    You are such a responsible mom getting out and doing stuff instead of vegging in front of the TV! I guess once your kid sleeps for longer than an hour at a time, these kinds of fun excursions become a possibility, huh? Wow! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • kayrosey says:

      It makes both of our days go better when we do stuff, she gets bored when it’s just the 2 of us at home.
      Yes, getting out of the house gets so much easier as they get older. At Charlotte’s age our lives revolved around nap and food, so outings were very short or didn’t happen at all. But, I freaking loved the 6-9 month age, they really start to do stuff and interact and show their personality! Good times are coming for you, don’t worry!

      Like

  3. Shannon says:

    I think it is great you take her out. I would use the crummy weather as an excuse to veg! Maybe that is why when we stay inside on rainy days my kid is crazy..HA
    Fort Wayne?! One of the larger companies we rep is in Fort Wayne…small world 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • kayrosey says:

      Oh, we totally veg around here! The bad weather just really drags on for a long time so we have to get out.
      I love Fort Wayne, if you ever find yourself here on a business trip I’ll show you how awesome it is 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lindsay says:

    Outings are VITAL for maintaining sanity! Even when it’s freezing outside!

    Like

Leave a Reply

