The ‘system’

So, we are in the thick of dealing with some medical stuff for the little dude. He has been congested since we got him, and yesterday spiked a pretty high fever, higher than anything Ali has run, so I decided it’s time to take him in. Just one problem, we didn’t have their Medicaid numbers, or a letter of placement, or even know their goddamn names it turns out. I will probably forever hate their social worker just a little bit for pushing us aside for so long, but we kind of went around (above) her and got what we needed to at least get an appointment. And here comes another not great thing, we have to take the kids to the ghetto ass Medicaid clinic their mom uses. I took him in yesterday afternoon and was a little taken aback by the whole thing. The building itself was dirty and falling apart, the PA seemed clueless, the nurses totally ignored me when I asked questions and tried to get information. Well, the final nurse we saw was cool, she was the only one that seemed competent and she knew the boys well and she had LOTS to say about the situation they came from. So we came home with a couple prescriptions and a follow up appointment in a week. Today, I couldn’t get dudes fever down under 103 no mater what I gave him or how many cold drinks and cool cloths I gave him. I called the clinic over 20 times! Left 3 increasingly bitchy voicemails! Didn’t get a call back for over 8 hours! WTF! So, I sent Jen and dude to the children’s ER by our house, at the hospital I’m currently working at in clinical (and interviewing at for a job in icu on Friday!), and they are taking care of him like I knew they would. 

It makes me sad that there are lots of people who can only afford that type of place, it’s not right and it’s not fair. Everyone deserves quality medical care. But, my boy isn’t going back there again, he will go to a doctor we choose since we are fortunate enough to have the option of putting him on our insurance.  

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The ‘system’

  1. Molly says:

    Wow–what an AWFUL experience. I am so glad you have the option of putting him on your insurance. There’s no way I’d be able to tolerate that kind of treatment when my kid is sick. It breaks my heart that so many people have no choice. Soapbox aside, I really hope he starts feeling better soon. Poor little guy. So much is happening in his little life and now he has to be sick. How lucky you all are to have each other right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kayrosey says:

      I was kind of flabbergasted that they were so incompetent, turns out he’s a mess and he’s coming back from the er with a totally different regimen of medications. I feel better about his health now that he’s seen an actual pediatric doctor, lung doctor, had x rays, had a nurse actually sit with them the entire time from waiting room to exam room to discharge to talk to Jen and assess dude really well. Have I mentioned I love that hospital?

      Like

  2. Lindsay says:

    It is fucking appalling that not all care is equal. Income should NOT dictate the level of care people get. Socialized medicine up here isn’t the evil so many Americans think it is.

    I’m glad you got your dude the care he deserves.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Shannon says:

    I hope he starts to feel better soon now that he seems to have gotten the care he needs and deserves.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Becca says:

    That’s great you can put him on your insurance. It stinks that there aren’t more practices that accept Medicaid. I’m not sure what it’s like here in MD. I know I coordinated care with some excellent pediatricians who took Medicaid in their practices, but they weren’t clinics. It’s a great benefit for children who qualify, so many working families have ridiculous deductibles on private insurance, they barely see the benefits. Anyways, hope the little guy is feeling better.

    Like

  5. Sounds like you might have got some good information from the one nurse, so not a complete loss. I’ve had to go to some rundown places because not all doctors will take Medicaid. Hope you can get the little one feeling better and get to thriving!

    Like

Leave a Reply

