Tasty Tuesday 

Here’s another writing prompt post, this one about one of my favorite things, food! I love everything about food; growing it, cooking it, preserving it, and best of all, eating it!

Most of last year was kind of a whirlwind. I had so much going on with school, starting a new job that’s third shift, and adding kids to the family, that food is one of the things that got pushed aside. I tried different variations of meal planning that helped sometimes, but more often than not take-out or frozen chicken nuggets made it onto our plates. I suppose the silver lining here is that I’ve finally embraced my love of frozen tater tots, and I’ve discovered that the kids’ favorite place to eat out is this tiny Vietnamese hole in the wall which makes my foodie heart pretty happy. Weird fish cakes, Kim chi, and seaweed for the win!

Now though? Now that I have more time, I’m finding myself leafing through my cookbooks and cooking magazines, excited again to plan and put together meals. I’m anxiously awaiting the strawberry picking schedule so I can take the kids picking and make jam. I’ve ordered a few mason jar airlocks for some small batch fermented things. I’ve made a couple cakes that didn’t come from a box. I feel myself settling back into one of my most favorite hobbies, and I’m excited for the return to normal. 

Now for the tasty part. This is the latest recipe that has made it into my recipe book. It’s a quick and easy dish, as most of the additions over the last few years have been, but it’s pretty good and kid approved. 

Chicken & Goat Cheese Skillet

  • 2 chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1 bunch asparagus
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 tomatoes, puréed 
  • 3 Tbsp milk
  • 4 oz goat cheese
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 Tbsp oil

Salt and pepper chicken, cook in oil. Remove from pan and set aside. Sautée asparagus for a couple minutes. Add tomato purée and garlic powder, cook until softened. Add chicken, goat cheese, and milk,  stir until heated through and cheese is melted. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve over rice. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tasty Tuesday 

  1. Molly says:

    This recipe sounds great. I love goat cheese.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shannon says:

    Chicken nuggets and tator tots are always the win in our house…HA!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

